I was away on vacation when the news broke out. It didn’t make sense at first when I read a friend’s tweet about “using physics” to look for someone. With my attention span, I dismissed it as one of those tweets that I’d soon forget.

Later that day, however, it was all over the news – DILG Secretary’s Jesse Robredo’s plane crash. (Truth be told, I haven’t heard of him before the incident. I fail as a Journalism student that way.) Only then did I make the connection to that tweet I unconsciously dismissed as “not newsworthy”. Soon, it was what my friends and I talked over at the breakfast table – the plane crash, the search efforts and consequently, his body being found and identified. (This says a lot, me being the only one taking a course related to media during that trip.) Our ride to the beach was also marked by reading front-page articles on the late secretary’s death and the crash. Our dinner table was tuned in to shows featuring his life and accomplishments.

The social medium had the details covered – the ongoing rescue missions and quotes from politicians and co-workers such as Mar Roxas. It was a blow-by-blow cover, as expected of micro-social networking sites such as Twitter. The broadcast medium had emotion-filled shows dealing with Robredo’s life accomplishments and testimonials while the broadsheets had his photos all over – from the front page banner and even to multiple photos in the inside pages. If not for the incident, I would have never known that such a well-liked politician existed. Media seemed to have instantly proclaimed him a little short of a saint – singing praises of an exemplar father and politician and mourning a great loss – which he is, in this corruption-laden country. (But I don’t know, I just unconsciously distrust eulogies in general. Though they may be factual, they’re too emotionally-laden to be balanced.)

Though I did not get to read-up on the incident as much as I would have on a normal weekday, it made me realize how despite being “on vacation” from the internet, media has still managed to get through me, albeit only in trickles.

